2009 Ezra Jack Keats Award Winners

The Ezra Jack Keats Award is dedicated to fostering the talent of the new generations of children, artists, and authors who have succeeded Ezra Jack Keats. Keats was the distinguished author-illustrator of the classic Caldecott Award-winning The Snowy Day. The EJK award recognizes and encourages developing, talented authors and illustrators of children’s books.

The 2009 Award Winners are….

Garmann's SummerNew Writer Award Winner
Garmann’s Summer
by Stian Hole
As the summer ends, six-year-old Garmann’s three ancient aunts visit and they all talk about the things that scare them.

BirdNew Illustrator Award Winner
illustrated by Shadra Strickland
Bird, an artistic young boy, expresses himself through drawing as he struggles to understand his older brother’s drug addiction and death, while a family friend, Uncle Son, provides guidance and understanding.

Leave a Comment

Search the Catalog

Search the Site

My Library Account

Forgot your PIN?