Kate McClelland and Kathy Krasniewicz Memorial Scholarship to the ALA Annual Conference

Random House Children’s Books continues to honor the memories of Perrot’s beloved librarians, Kate McClelland and Kathy Krasniewicz, with a special scholarship for a new or student librarian to attend the American Library Association Annual Conference. From Random House’s Website:ALA Members: In 500 words or less, tell us about a new librarian or library student … Read more

The Latest in Children’s Literature News

A few interesting tidbits from Publisher’s Weekly: Newbery medalist Katherine Paterson has been appointed the new National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature. She succeeds the first Children’s Ambassador, Jon Scieszka. Paterson says, “Books help us make friends who are different from ourselves.” Diary of a Wimpy Kid, the movie, arrives in theaters on April 2nd, … Read more

National Book Award Finalists 2009

The National Book Awards present the best in four genres of published works: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. They recognize the best in literature, from both emerging and established writers. The National Book Awards finalists were announced on October 14th, 2009 and are as follows: For Fiction:American Salvage, by Bonnie Jo Campbell Let … Read more

2009 Ezra Jack Keats Award Winners

The Ezra Jack Keats Award is dedicated to fostering the talent of the new generations of children, artists, and authors who have succeeded Ezra Jack Keats. Keats was the distinguished author-illustrator of the classic Caldecott Award-winning The Snowy Day. The EJK award recognizes and encourages developing, talented authors and illustrators of children’s books. The 2009 … Read more

Genre Fiction Award Winners

The American Library Association’s annual Genre Fiction awards were announced in the April 15th edition of Library Journal. Perrot Library is pleased to have a staff member, MirjaJohanson, on this Reading List Council. This year’s winners are: Adrenaline:Blue Heaven, by C.J. Box A twelve-year-old girl and her younger brother go on the run in the … Read more

Pulitzer Prize Winners

The Pulitzer Prize for fiction was awarded to Olive Kitteridge, by Elizabeth Strout. The press releases describes the book as “a collection of 13 short stories set in small-town Maine that packs a cumulative emotional wallop, bound together by polished prose and by Olive, the title character, blunt, flawed and fascinating.” This book was used … Read more

My Library Account

Forgot your PIN?

Search the Catalog

Search the Site